On Life, Sexual Misconduct and Politics

Posted on Updated on

In imitation of Vivimarie VanderPoorten

1

Did you ever realize that
Life
Is like getting off a 176 at Super Market Junction,
Wanting to get a 138 at Nugegoda Junc
And while walking, it starts to rain so hard that
You – without an umbrella –
Are forced to buy one at a corner shop
And then you walk on with umbrella all open
And still it rains, it doesn’t stop,
And you cross the road near Sarasavi Bookshop,
And the rain
Then
Altogether
Stops
.

2

If anti-raggers are against the rag,
Those who molest women in buses:
Are they ragging a[u]nties?

3

If politicians, as a species, grew feathers by the number
Would the word birdbrain, then,
Have a different connotation?

11 thoughts on “On Life, Sexual Misconduct and Politics

    nehama said:
    November 12, 2009 at 10:52 am

    I am sorry, I don’t mean to be rude but what kind of mileage and recognition do you hope to achieve by linking the name of Vivimarie, recognized poet and award winner to your babble? I find your grammar to be shoddy, your your expression simplistic and frivolous.

    In short what you put out as an imitation is actually a desecration. Lets see if you have the guts to put up my comments on your blog

    vihanga responded:
    March 12, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Nehama,

    Not being rude. Just that your number 1 poet doesn’t mean anything to me. Sorry that both you and vivimarie missed the point. By the way, came across this as a “link” in vivimarie’s blog …. riddence ha?

    sung said:
    March 12, 2010 at 9:46 am

    thumbs up VK….
    hahahhahaaha (for the reply)

    marlon said:
    March 12, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Who is this nehema dude … and who gives a &%*# about “recognized” asshole contemporary poets of Sri Lanka…. the last good poet was Lakdas in the 70’s….
    I remember one guy commenting on ur grammar… WELL FUK GRAMAR i is say… we is starting new gramar
    and just u wait mr or miss Nehema.. u aint seen the worst yet…. we not only gonna desecrate we gon rape all of ur shitty elitist poets …

    vivi said:
    March 12, 2010 at 11:36 am

    hi vihanga 🙂 we have something in common, you and me. I am not your number one poet and you are not my number one fiction/non-fiction writer / poet either. Glad we got that one sorted out. Phew. Just wanted to know why you say that I didnt ‘get’ it. Where is my comment which reveals to you this, that I didnt get it? Just curious.

    Naz said:
    March 12, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    I hope that last comment was metaphorical because last time i checked, rape was a crime in this country…:s

    vihanga responded:
    March 13, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Vivimarie, my ambitions are pretty unambitious. That you listen to me when i write is more than cool. Of course, I dont mean to reflect badly on any non-poetic interaction we may have generated. Cool.

    To be fair by Vivimarie, this is my sole entry which has attracted such extensive involvement by “readers”. And that, too, is thanks to Poorten — and not cos of me. See what she does — even when not rhyming? 😮

    No alive poet can beat Malinda.

    vivi said:
    March 13, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    thanks vihanga for that very gracious comment. it was unintentional so i cant take the credit for it, unfortunately. alive poets, dead poets, dont you realise that what anyone thinks is ‘good’ poetry or poets is all subjective? who decides? personally i dont give a flying fuck whether you or your rapist friends like my work or not. What beats me is the fact that people who go on about ‘shitty elitist poets’ and shitty elitist awards never stop submitting their work for these same shitty elitist awards. one of the many mysteries of life, i guess. No hard feelings, bro, fellow-poet/fiction/non/fiction writer. Peace.

    vihanga responded:
    March 13, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Well,

    a) i didnt mean to be “gracious” vivimarie… that, too, is purely accidental; unless it is a misreading of my idiom.

    b) I have an itching feeling that….”what beats me is the fact that people who go on about ’shitty elitist poets’ and shitty elitist awards never stop submitting their work for these same shitty elitist awards”…. seems to refer to ME. To my knowledge, none of the others involved in this chit-chat have submitted for any “elitist award” as such, except me. But, I won’t be provoked to respond in detail, cos this is not the forum to do so.

    But, “elitist” or otherwise, a person has to play with and manipulate the available options in order to enhance his or her creative ends (I hope this grammar is not too frivolous for Nehama)…

    Just to remind that you, too, Vivimarie, (who is trying to locate yourself as a member of the “non-elitist” camp of Lankan writers…. a locating which doesn’t seem to go down too well with people like Marlon) has contested, judged and won such awards along your way to this forum.

    Peace is my prerogative. But, I regret that in SL people tend to take criticism too personally — that they dash down all their work and chores and unearth the tomahawk. So, peace is never an issue with me. If I find an elitist-reader or a writer who walks, talks, dresses, thinks, winks and drinks elitist — i will say so; but, not necessarily as a condemning of the person. It will be more as a criticism of the politics of the person. But, with a want of a sustained critical culture people tend to take criticism at the personal level. This should cease. At least among writers with minds and brains.

    vivi said:
    March 14, 2010 at 2:58 am

    Oh vihanga. “To my knowledge, none of the others involved in this chit-chat have submitted for any “elitist award” as such, except me.” How wrong you are, how wrong 🙂

    vihanga responded:
    March 14, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    I acknowledged the limitation of my presumption. Not that I have known Sung and Marlon to have published.

    Submitting to “elitist awards” has nothing to do with the “doing of elitist poets” (as marlon worded it) — from which this shit on “elitism” branched off. “Elitist” Prosperos of the literary discourse would rather the Calibans kept out. But, that won’t be the case. This is a general statement im making as a response to Marlon.

    And Marlon, I will give u an instance where a “socially elite” could, through his writing, be a more politically informed and non-“elite” agent: Richard De Zoysa. This shows that “elitism”, in this context, is a “mindset” and a “psyche” — and not necessarily a narrow referent to one’s financial and economic status.

    Bang!

Leave a Reply

