Love In a Night of Light and Thunder

Posted on Updated on

To, Elmo

12 lines I had written, even paced,
I, confused, dismayed, on a certain night
Recover by the flicker of a candle light
And I wonder whet

Lives end, begin
In the same less, effortless moment. Within,
Unheard, something stirs, some unrepresented
Stammer of a wordless thing. In your arms you hold me
Without a word to remember

That the world, where it spins, will
Kill me to mend her. On a powder keg
At the foot of a stairway we stand,
Balancing in a kiss the notion of passion,
Powerful explosion. On a powder keg we stand

In metaphor relating to conflict which
Caused the census many lives; lives lost
Without consensus and the luck which fate deprives
The unlucky. This world is mine, say, this world is mine,
When the world collapses into me without gravity.

It is rain outside, where I write this, the window
Shows me blurring reality that blur away from sight.
Thunder claps on hills far away and a mist veils-unveils the
Lamp light from searching eyes. You’re a truth to me
Where life truth denies

I find a note book in which I have sketched a verse,
12 lines out of love at a time
Where I had not even yet begun to love you. They rhyme
Of pre-historic ripples, anxiously put to time and place.
I love you yet, anyways. In another country from this love; embrace.

2011-04-15

5 thoughts on “Love In a Night of Light and Thunder

    sumathy said:
    April 17, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    Really nice poem. simple, complex, moving and intellectual.
    I suppose you were utterly “sincere” in writing this? (though sincerity is a dubious criterion to judge ‘good’ poetry by. But that is beside the point.). Whatever, I do like it a lot.

    VK responded:
    April 18, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    OMG Dr Sumathy??? U here??? 😛 Yeah yeah — sincere most times i guess.

    T said:
    April 19, 2011 at 7:34 am

    lovely.

    Mk said:
    April 27, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    This is the best one for me out of all your poetry, vihanga! And agree with Dr SS above on three counts 🙂 it’s simple, complex, moving and beautiful!!

    Mr. Bee said:
    May 10, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Out of the latest lot, this piece simply rocks!

Leave a Reply

