Holder and Bulb

Posted on Updated on

You hold me and say
“You are my bulb”.
Let us make light then
And those that touch us
Let them be burnt like hell.

In touching give a spark,
The heated tungsten, on a
Fragile filament quivers like a heart
Making love (or light) till
We collapse apart.

And then, the scene shifts back to reality:
We’re caught in a fit of ungoverned frenzy
And are kissing like mad as if in any impending second
The world will have a stroke, collapse and end.

You’re my CFL.
And I? “You’re my
Ceylon Electricity Board”.
Released from that energy-sapping all-draining power
I am also called by a company that runs at a loss.

2011-05-12

Leave a Reply

